Mount Union reveals spring football slate

ALLIANCE — There will be no Mount Union football this fall, but there may be on Friday nights in the spring.

The Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) announced on Thursday preliminary spring competition schedules for the four team sports that were postponed this fall due to COVID-19. The schedules include football, men’s soccer, women’s soccer and women’s volleyball.

Each schedule will feature conference-only competition and do not exceed the NCAA 50 percent waiver so that all student-athletes will retain one of their four seasons of eligibility.

The schedules are planned to begin on the weekend of March 12 and conclude on the weekend of April 16 with championship games in all sports.

The OAC will split into two football divisions — East and West.

Defending OAC champion Mount Union will be joined by Baldwin Wallace, John Carroll, Marietta, Mount Union and Muskingum in the East Division.

The West Division includes Capital, Heidelberg, Ohio Northern, Otterbein and Wilmington.

Each team will play the other four teams in its division (two home, two road) over a five-week period with each team receiving a bye.

The schedule begins with games on Friday, March 12. All games will have 7 p.m. kickoffs.

On Friday, April 16, the top seeds of each division will meet for the OAC championship.

The two-seeds will also play as well as the three-seeds, four-seeds and five-seeds.

The East Division hosts the games between the No. 1, No. 3 and No. 5 seeds while the West Division hosts the No. 2 and No. 4 seed games.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today