Elections board reorganizes

From Left: Patricia Colian, vice chair; Bryce Miner, deputy director; David Johnson, chairman; Victor Maroscher, member; Judge Tim McNicol; Larry Bowersock, member; Kim Fusco, director (Photo by Lily Nickel)

LISBON — The Columbiana County Board of Elections officially appointed and swore in multiple positions on the board Friday afternoon. Judge Tim McNicol swore in Kim Fusco as director and Bryce Miner as deputy director, along with board members Victor Maroscher, representing the Republican party, and Larry Bowersock, representing the Democratic party, all of whom were already in those positions. David Johnson remains chairman and Patricia Colian remains vice chair.

Appointing the members was part of the reorganization process, which takes place every odd-numbered year, required by the Secretary of State’s Office in order to ensure bipartisanship among the board, according to Miner. The directive given by the Secretary of State says that the appointed director must be of the opposite party of the chairman and the deputy director must be of the opposite party of the director.

In other business, Fusco announced to the board that the old voting machines have been disposed of and the new ones will be arriving March 15 and 16. She encourages the public to reach out to her or Miner if they have any concerns over the new machines as she hopes to dispel any concerns or misconceptions regarding the new technology.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today