Five show up on East District first team

Three players from Beaver Local and two from East Liverpool highlight the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association 2020 East District high school football teams.

Beaver Local’s first-team selections in Division IV include senior wide receiver Dylan Moore, senior defensive lineman Payne Allen and senior defensive back Tanner Johnston.

East Liverpool’s first-team honorees are senior quarterback Howie Williams and sophomore offensive lineman Mason Ludwig.

Moore was the Beavers’ leading receiver with 42 catches for 874 yards (20.8) and eight touchdowns.

Allen was a stalwart on the defensive line, totaling 62 tackles with 11 for losses, three sacks and two forced fumbles.

Johnston was two-way standout. In the secondary, he collected 22 tackles and broke up three passes.

Williams was the Potters’ top threat at quarterback, running for 1,104 yards and 15 touchdowns on 175 carries (6.3) and completing 63 of 118 passes (53 percent) for 864 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Ludwig paved the way for Williams and the Potters’ offense.

Second-team honors went to East Liverpool senior offensive linemen and twins Cameron Bryant and Colin Bryant and East Liverpool sophomore lineman Eric Williams.

Receiving special mention were East Liverpool’s Devin Toothman, Dylan Czech, Devon Keyes and Dalton Owens and Beaver Local’s Caleb White and twins Tommy Warrick and Dakota Warrick.

Teams were selected by a media panel from the district.

See page B2 for the complete East District football team.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.50/week.

Subscribe Today