Beaver Local advances eight to state meet

From Staff Reports

HEATH — Beaver Local’s Logan Ours won the 120-pound Div. II district championship to highlight area wrestlers on Saturday at the tournament at Heath High School.

Ours defeated St. Clairsville’s Koen Kish by a 7-1 count in the championship final to earn his spot at the state tournament. The top four finishers in each weight class will wrestle at the state tournament set to begin Thursday at Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center.

Beaver Local had seven other state qualifiers scattered throughout the field.

Placing second was Skyler Lasure at 145 pounds. Lasure lost a 6-3 decision to Granville’s Douglas Terry in the 145-pound final.

Placing third was Cole McComas at 126 pounds as he scored an 8-2 win over Carrollton’s Domanick Speelman in the consolation final. Logan Krulik was also third at 152 pounds as he beat Hartley’s Keegan Moran in the consolation final.

Garrett Givens (220) and Daniel Wirth (285) scored consolation final wins in their respective classes. Givens beat St. Clairsville’s Justice McCamick 5-2 and Wirth beat River View’s Owen Kempf 2-1.

Mark Emmerling Jr. (113) and Beau Smith (170) were fourth in their classes. Emmerling lost a 7-4 decision to New Lexington’s Blake Sheppard in his consolation final, while Smith was pinned by Indian Valley’s Jacob Armstrong in 2:40.

East Liverpool’s Skyler Wooley will be going to state as well as he took second at 220 pounds after a 15-10 defeat to Claymont’s Kole Aubiel in the championship final.

Minerva’s Drake Decker (106) and Jarrett Burress (285) both finished second. Decker was beat 10-2 by River Valley’s Drake Cerney in his final, while Burress was pinned in 1:42 in his final.

Also for Minerva, Ethan Mueller was fourth at 138 after a 8-3 loss to London’s Antwaun Burns in the consolation final.

Beaver Local scored 191 points to top the team standings. Steubenville was second with 164 points.


106: Drake Cerny (Cal. River Valley) maj. dec. Drake Decker (Minerva) 10-2

113: Cael Woods (West Holmes) dec. Michael Petrella (Hartley) 14-7

120: Logan Ours (Beaver) dec. Koen Kish (St. Clairsville) 7-1

126: Peyten Kellar (Warren) dec. Peyton Blasko (Steubenville) 7-2

132: Tyler Muldrew (Steubenville) maj. dec. Brady O’Connor (Indian Valley) 13-1

138: Micah Norwood (Hartley) dec. Jacson Muldrew (Steubenville) 6-3

145: Douglas Terry (Granville) dec. Skyler Lasure (Beaver) 6-3

152: Anthony Rice (Steubenville) dec. Dylan Dodson (Licking Valley) 15-10

160: Ben Pasiuk (Carrollton) maj. dec. Hadyn Danals (Cal. River Valley) 11-3

170: Brandon Daniels (Carrollton) dec. Brice Parks (Jackson) 11-8

182: Keegan VanMeter (Granville) maj. dec. Alex Carrothers (Carrollton) 8-0

195: Griffin Rathburn (Hartley) dec. Keith Bodnar (Steubenville) 2-1

220: Kole Aubiel (Claymont) dec. Skylor Wooley (East Liverpool) 15-10

285: Cole Potts (Col. DeSales) pin Jarrett Burress (Minerva) 1:42


106: David Woolever (Carrollton) dec. Griffin Chmiel (Alexander) 2-1

113: Blake Sheppard (New Lexington) dec. Mark Emmerling Jr. (Beaver) 7-4

120: Tyler Masters (West Holmes) dec. Jarrett Warrington (Claymont) 3-0

126: Cole McComas (Beaver) dec. Domanick Speelman (Carrollton) 8-2

132: Caden Stout (St. Clairsville) dec. Hayden Martin (River View) 4-3

138: Antwaun Burns (London) dec. Ethan Mueller (Minerva) 8-3

145: Jordan Barnett (Sheridan) pin Adam Lenhoff (Indian Valley) 6:45, OT

152: Logan Krulik (Beaver) dec. Keegan Moran (Hartley) 3-0

160: Zach Love (Indian Valley) dec. Ethan Pappas (Steubenville) 14-8

170: Jacob Armstrong (Indian Valley) pin Beau Smith (Beaver) 2:40

182: David Tuttle (Steubenville) dec. Chance King (Sheridan) 7-

195: Owen Loughman (Sheridan) pin Mitchell Miracle (Cal. River Valley) 0:22

220: Garrett Givens (Beaver) dec. Justice McCamick (St. Clairsville) 5-2

285: Daniel Wirth (Beaver) dec. Owen Kempf (River View) 2-1, tiebreaker

Alliance Div. II

ALLIANCE — West Branch will send three to the state wrestling tournament after action on Saturday at the Div. II district meet at Alliance High School.

Senior Christian Wayt finished second at 120 pounds after dropping a 2-1 decision to Louisville’s Garett Lautzenheiser.

Warrior senior Neil Ginnetti finished fourth at 182 pounds after being pinned by Lake Catholic’s Dorian Gridiron in the consolation final.

Fellow Warrior senior Kenny Marra was fourth at 195 pounds after being pinned by Louisville’s Brent Paulus in the consolation final.

These wrestlers will be back in action starting Thursday at the state wrestling tournament at Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center.

Div. III

GARFIELD HEIGHTS — Six area wrestlers finished in the top four on Saturday at the Div. III district wrestling tournament at Garfield Heights High School.

Columbiana’s Nathan Whitehead finished second at 195 after a 2-1 tiebreaker loss to Rootstown’s Ryan Boyle. Fellow Clipper Brandt Virden took third at 113 pounds after pinning Tuslaw’s Adam Ryder in a consolation final.

Crestview’s Trey Wonner captured fourth place at 132 pounds after falling by a 5-2 decision to Akron Manchester’s Jake White in the consolation final.

South Range’s Anthony Czap captured the 220-pound title by scoring a 5-0 win over Garfield’s Noah Hoffman in the championship final.

Fellow Raider Kyle Keenan took second at 126 pounds after being pinned in 3:03 by Akron Manchester’s Zach Larue in the championship match. South Range’s Michael Markulin took fourth at 120 pounds after dropping a 3-2 decision to Waynedale’s Seth Unkefer in the consolation final.

All six wrestlers will be back in action at the state wrestling tournament which runs Thursday through Saturday at Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center.