New substitute teachers hired by Hancock County BOE for 2018-2019

NEW CUMBERLAND — Several new substitute teachers were hired by the Hancock County Board of Education during this week’s meeting.

Six countywide substitute teachers were approved for the 2018-2019 school year, which included Haley Bowman, Alexandria Bruno, Kayla Hinchee, Caitlyn Knotts, Amy Marosz and Tyler Warrick. All six hold bachelor’s degrees and have no prior experience.

The board also accepted the assignment of Breanna Hawkingberry, who will serve as an LPN/AM aide at New Manchester Elementary.

The board approved the resignations of Weir High math teachers Julia Marzano and Jeffrey Lewis, both effective Jan. 31. Marzano will be relocating, while Lewis found other employment.

The board also accepted the resignation of substitute custodian Rowdy Georgetti Jr. effective Jan. 14. Georgetti found other employment.

In addition, two transfers were approved– Weir High cook Stephanie Richards and substitute bus operator Michelle Starinsky.

Richards moved to Weirton Elementary effective Wednesday, while Starinsky now serves as a substitute cook,

In other business, the board

— Approved the purchase of two tractors from Phil’s Sales and Service of Columbiana, for a total cost of $25,010. They will be used for Weirton Elementary and New Manchester Elementary.

— Approved four overnight field trips. The trips were for the high school softball team to Myrtle Beach, S.C. for the Ripken Softball Spring Training March 24-29; the middle school wrestling team to St. Clairsville for the Ohio Valley Championships Jan. 25-26; the middle school chorus group to Charleston, W.Va. for the West Virginia Music Educators Association Conference; and for the middle school cheerleaders to Clarksburg, W.Va. for the Liberty High School Cheer Classic Feb. 22-23.

— Approved multiple items from the central kitchen to be declared surplus.

At the conclusion of the meeting, the board went into executive session to discuss an investigation report per West Virginia Code. No action was taken from that session.

The next meeting will be 5 p.m. Jan. 28 at the John D. Rockefeller IV Career Center.