New Cumberland Lions receive awards

Pictured (from left) Betsy and Jim Wells, and Ed and Leslie Fields (Submitted photo)

NEW CUMBERLAND — The meeting was brought to order by First Vice President Joyce Young. Lion Don Greathouse offered the prayer and Lion Arland Lamp led the Pledge of Allegiance. First Vice President Joyce Young introduced the guests, District Governor Gary Pitcock and Zone Chairman Bernice Pitcock. Lion Brian Webster made a motion to dispense with business with a second by Lion Pam Stiles. Motion carried. Young thanked Lion Pam Stiles, Lion Dorothy Hawkes, Lions Betsy Wells, Lion Jim Wells, Lion Sally Greathouse, Lion Peggy Lee, and Lion Alan Lee for their contributions to the evening festivities.

Young awarded the new member certificates to Derek and Tonya Stickles and sponsor certificates to Derek’s sponsor, Lion Jeff Fawcett, and Tonya’s sponsor, Ellen Musgrave. District Governor Gary Pitcock installed officers for the 2019-2020 year. Pitcock presented Lion Ed Fields with the Leonard Jarrett Award which is the highest honor in WV. District Governor Gary Pitcock presented Lion Betsy Wells with the Melvin Jones Award which is the highest award in Lionism worldwide.

The next pulled pork events will be July 27, Aug. 31, Sept. 28-29 at the New Cumberland River Fest, and Oct. 19 back at the Swaney Library parking lot. Tail Twister Cole Young held the Tail Twister drawing – the winner was Lion Andrew Keefer. Door prizes were awarded and the meeting was adjourned.