Potters, Beavers open tourney play Feb. 21

BELMONT — Defending district champion New Philadelphia and fifth-ranked Zanesville Maysville received the top two seeds in the Division II East district girls basketball draw Sunday.

Action gets under way at 7 p.m. Feb. 21 as Beaver Local hosts Steubenville and East Liverpool travels to Zanesville Maysville.

SEEDS: 1. New Philadelphia; 2. Zanesville Maysville; 3. Cambridge; 4. Carrollton; 5. Wintersville Indian Creek; 6. Dover; 7. Buckeye Local; 8. New Concord John Glenn; 9. Warsaw River View; 10. Beaver Local; 11. Duncan Falls Philo; 12. Steubenville; 13. St. Clairsville; 14. Zanesville; 15. Minerva; 16. Byesville Meadowbrook; 17. Urichsville Claymont; 18. Millersburg West Holmes; 19. 19. Gnadenhutten Indian Valley; 20. East Liverpool.


Wednesday, February 21

Millersburg West Holmes at Cambridge, 7 p.m.

East Liverpool at Zanesville Maysville, 7 p.m.

Steubenville at Beaver Local, 7 p.m.

Byesville Meadowbrook at Carrollton, 7 p.m.

Saturday, February 24

Zaneville vs. Millersburg West Holmes-Cambridge winner, 2 p.m.

Warsaw River View at Buckeye Local, 2 p.m.

Gnadenhutten Indian Valley vs. Zanesville Maysville-East Liverpool winner, 2 p.m.

Urichsville Claymont at Dover, 2 p.m.

Steubenville-Beaver Local winner at New Philadelphia, 2 p.m.

St. Clairsville at New Concord John Glenn, 2 p.m.

Minerva vs. Byesville Meadowbrook-Minerva winner, 2 p.m.

Dunacan Falls Philo at Wintersville Indian Creek, 2 p.m.


East 1

Wednesday, February 28

Zanesville-Millersburg West Holmes-Cambridge winner vs. Warsaw River View-Buckeye Local winner, 7 p.m.

Gnadenhutten Indian Valley-East Liverpool-Zanesville Maysville winner vs. Urichsville Claymont-Dover winner, 7 p.m.

East 2

Wednesday, Febuary 28

New Philadelphia-Steubenville-Beaver Local winner vs. St. Clairsville-New Concord John Glenn winner, 7 p.m.

Minerva-Byesville Meadowbrook-Carrollton winner vs. Duncan Falls Philo-Wintersville Indian Creek winner, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 3

East 1

District championship, 2 p.m. (Winner advances to regional)

East 2

District championship, 2 p.m. (Winner advances to regional)

Division IV

MINERAL RIDGE — Third-ranked Jackson-Milton is the team to beat in the Mineral Ridge Division IV sectional-district girls basketball tournament.

The two-time defending champion Bluejays (17-1), leaders of the Mahoning Valley Athletic Conference, received the top seed. McDonald is the second seed and Western Reserve the third seed.

McDonald handed Jackson-Milton its only loss of the season.

Eight teams in the field sport a winning record, including Lisbon, Leetonia and Southern Local.

SEEDS (records before voting): 1. Jackson-Milton (15-1); 2. McDonald (12-4); 3. Western Reserve (14-5); 4. Liberty (11-4); 5. Valley Christian (9-6); 6. Lordstown (11-4); 7. Lisbon (10-6); 8. Leetonia (10-6); 9. Southern Local (11-7); 10. Lowellville (6-12); 11. Wellsville (2-17); 12. Sebring (1-16); 13. Heartland Christian (1-17).


Wednesday, February 21

Southern Local at Leetonia, 7 p.m.

Heartland Christian at Liberty, 7 p.m.

Sebring at Valley Christian, 7 p.m.

Lowellville at Lisbon, 7 p.m.

Wellsville at Lordstown, 7 p.m.

Saturday, February 24

Southern Local-Leetonia winner at Jackson-Milton, 1 p.m.

Heartland Christian-Liberty winner va. Sebring-Valley Christian winner, 1 p.m.

Lowellville-Lisbon winner at McDonald, 1 p.m.

Wellsville-Lordstown winner at Western Reserve, 1 p.m.


at Mineral Ridge

Wednesday, February 28

Southern Local-Leetonia-Jackson Milton winner vs. Heartland Christian-Liberty-Sebring-Valley Chrsitian winner, 6

Lowellville-Lisbon-McDonald winner vs. Wellsville-Lordstown-Western Reserve winner, 7:45 p.m.

Saturday, March 3

District champship, 4 p.m. (Winner advances to Massillon Perry regional)

Division III

STRUTHERS — The Struthers Division III sectional-district girls basketball tournament has a lot of local flavor.

Seven of the top 10 seeds are local squads, including top-seeded South Range (16-2), second-seeded Salem (13-5) and third-seeded Columbiana (18-1).

Sectional play opens Feb. 21 with the top four teams hosting second-round games on Feb. 24.

South Range, ranked 12th in the Division III state poll, received nine of 12 first-place votes.

South Range and Salem both field young teams and split the regular-season series — South Range winning 58-47 on Nov. 27 and Salem winning 58-36 on Jan. 24.

Salem also beat Columbiana, 52-41, on Jan. 10.

It is the only loss in the last 46 regular-season games for the Clippers, champions of the Eastern Ohio Athletic Conference.

SEEDS (records before voting): 1. South Range (15-2); 2. Salem (12-4); 3. Columbiana (16-1); 4. Brookfield (12-3); 5. Crestview (12-4); 6. Mineral Ridge (8-9); 7. United (10-7); 8. Canton Central Catholic (3-12); 9. East Palestine (8-13); 10. Springfield (6-10); 11. Girard (4-11); 12. Campbell Memorial (1-15).


Wednesday, February 21

East Palestine at Canton Central Catholic, 7 p.m.

Campbell Memorial at Crestview, 7 p.m.

Springfield at United, 7 p.m.

Girard at Mineral Ridge, 7 p.m.

Saturday, February 24

East Palestine-Canton Central Catholic winner at South Range, 1 p.m.

Campbell Memorial-Crestview winner at Brookfield, 1 p.m.

Springfield-United winner at Salem, 1 p.m.

Girard-Mineral Ridge winner at Columbiana, 1 p.m.


at Struthers Fieldhouse

Wednesday, February 28

East Palestine-Canton Central Catholic-South Range winner vs. Campbell Memorial-Crestview-Brookfield winner, 6 p.m.

Springfield-United-Salem winner vs. Girard-Mineral Ridge-Columbiana winner, 7:45 p.m.

Saturday, March 1

District championship, 1 p.m. (Winner advances to Cuyahoga Falls regional)

Division II

AUSTINTOWN — Top-ranked West Branch was the unanimous No. 1 seed in the Austintown Fitch Division II sectional-district girls basketball tournament.

West Branch (18-0), the Northeastern Buckeye Conference champion, will begin its quest for a second straight district title when the Warriors host the Ravenna Southeast-Cortland Lakeview winner at 7 p.m. Feb. 22.

Howland, ranked 12th in the state poll, is the second seed followed by Struthers in third and Poland in fourth.

Struthers has wins over Howland and Poland this season.

SEEDS (records before voting): 1. West Branch (16-0); 2. Howland (14-4); 3. Struthers (14-3); 4. Poland (13-4); 5. Youngstown Ursuline (9-8); 6. Youngstown Mooney (10-7); 7. Ravenna (10-7); 8. Cortland Lakeview (8-10); 9. Ravenna Southeast (8-9); 10. Sebring (7-10); 11. Hubbard (5-12); 12. Mantua Crestwood (0-15).


Saturday, February 17

Ravenna Southeast at Cortland Lakeview, 1 p.m.

Mantua Crestwood at Youngstown Ursuline, 1 p.m.

Niles at Ravenna, 1 p.m.

Hubbard at Youngstown Mooney, 1 p.m.

Thursday, February 22

Ravenna Southeast-Cortland Lakeview winner at West Branch, 7 p.m.

Mantua Crestwood-Youngstown Ursuline winner at Poland, 7 p.m.

Niles-Ravenna winner at Howland, 7 p.m.

Hubbard-Youngstown Mooney winner at Struthers, 7 p.m.


at Austintown Fitch

Monday, February 26

Ravenna Southeast-Cortland Lakeview-West Branch winner vs. Mantua Crestwood-Youngstown Ursuline-Polnd winner, 6 p.m.

Niles-Ravenna-Howland winner vs. Hubbard-Youngstown Mooney-Struthers winner, 7:45 p.m.

Thursday, March 1

District championship, 7 p.m. (Winner advances to Barberton regional)