Sweeney, Muslovski top county teams

Lisbon junior Justin Sweeney and Columbiana sophomore Kayla Muslovski have more in common than the No. 4 on their jerseys.

They were named Columbiana County players of the year in balloting by county coaches on Sunday.

Sweeney led the Blue Devils to a 13-11 season as he was the county’s top scorer. He averaged a school-record 25.3 points a game, while leading the team in assists (3.7) and steals (2.6) and was the second-leading rebounder (7.8).

He has scored 1,052 points over the last two seasons.

Muslovski averaged more than 20 points a game for the second straight season as the leader of Columbiana squad that went 21-3 and won the inaugural Eastern Ohio Athletic Conference title.

She averaged a team-high 21.0 points along with six steals, four assists and three rebounds per game while shooting 51 percent from the field.

Coaches of the year are Lisbon’s Jamie Entrikin and Salem’s Vince Nittoli for the girls and Wellsville’s David Thompson for the boys.

Entrikin has led the Lisbon girls, with one senior on the roster, to a surprising 17-9 season and their first district title since 1991. The Blue Devils are the lone county team left in the tournament and will play Dalton in a Division IV regional semifinal at 8 p.m. Thursday at Massillon Perry High School.

Nittoli’s Quakers also have one senior and went 17-8, including two wins over Columbiana. Salem reached the Division III district final for its first appearance in the district championship game since 2010.

Thompson guided the Wellsville boys to a 16-8 season — the winningest boys team in the county this season.

Sweeney and Salem senior Mitch Davidson were the lone two unanimous selections on the boys team. Sweeney edged Davidson for top honors. Both also were first-teamers last year.

Sweeney and Davidson are joined on the first team by East Liverpool junior Gabe Roach, Leetonia junior Roman Ferry, Southern Local senior Jacob Joiner, United senior Kaden Smith, Wellsville junior Garrett Scott and Columbiana senior Jared Wilson.

On the boys second team are East Palestine junior Dominic Posey, Lisbon senior Branson Brownfield, United senior Dakota Hill, Beaver Local sophomore Luke Chetock, East Liverpool sophomore Tresean Jackson, Salem senior Chase Ackerman, Wellsville sophomore Darien Suggs and Crestview freshman Drake Golden.

Girls unanimous selections included Muslovski, Lisbon sophomore Izzy Perez, Salem senior Allee Davidson-Chuck and Southern Local senior Anna Sevek. Also on the first team are Columbiana senior Alexis Cross, Beaver Local sophomore Jenna Riccardo, Crestview freshman Krista Perry and Leetonia senior Kayla Jackson.

Muslovski and Cross also were first-team selections last season.

The girls second team includes Lisbon sophomore Maddie Liberati, United senior Cami Pierson, Wellsville senior Menina Jackson, Columbiana junior Kennedy Fullum, Salem junior Ellie Davidson, Heartland Christian sophomore Sydney Ogden, Beaver Local sophomore Madison Cline and Southern Local junior Riley Felton.



2017-2018 ALL-STAR



Player Class School

Justin Sweeney Jr. Lisbon

Mitch Davidson Sr. Salem

Gabe Roach Jr. East Liverpool

Roman Ferry Jr. Leetonia

Jacob Joiner Sr. Southern Local

Kaden Smith Sr. United

Garrett Scott Jr. Wellsville

Jared Wilson Sr. Columbiana


Dominic Posey Jr. East Palestine

Branson Brownfield Sr. Lisbon

Dakota Hill Sr. United

Luke Chetock Sop. Beaver Local

Tresean Jackson Soph. East Liverpool

Chase Ackerman Sr. Salem

Darien Suggs Soph. Wellsville

Drake Golden Fr. Crestview


Zak Pappas (Beaver Local); Erik Hopfenziz (Columbiana); Scott Murray (Crestview); Brennan O’Hara (East Liverpool); Branden Kemp (East Palestine); Steven Baker, Joey Donofrio (Heartland Christian); Tommy Kornbau (Leetonia); Ryan McCullough (Lisbon); Seth Shivers (Salem); Dominic Pugliano (Southern Local); Parker Hydrick (United); Brandon Patterson (Wellsville).


Justin Sweeney (Lisbon)


David Thompson (Wellsville)



Player Class School

Kayla Muslovski Soph. Columbiana

Izzy Perez Soph. Lisbon

Allee Davidson-Chuck Sr. Salem

Anna Sevek Sr. Southern Local

Alexis Cross Sr. Columbiana

Jenna Riccardo Soph. Beaver Local

Krista Perry Fr. Crestview

Kayla Jackson Sr. Leetonia


Maddie Liberati Soph. Lisbon

Cami Pierson Sr. United

Menina Jackson Sr. Wellsville

Kennedy Fullum Jr. Columbiana

Ellie Davidson Jr. Salem

Sydney Ogden Soph. Heartland

Madison Cline Soph. Beaver Local

Riley Felton Jr. Southern Local


Kierra Taylor (Beaver Local); Tessa Liggett (Columbiana); Tanner Hoffer (Crestview); Emma Ludwig, Ciara Pieachey (East Liverpool); Alisha Dean, Brysten Trosky (East Palestine); Jana Croyts (Heartland Christian); Ari Russell (Leetonia); Chloe Smith (Lisbon); Echo Mayer-Kutz (Salem); Hayleigh Allen (Southern Local); Loren Swords (United); Hunter Weekley (Wellsville).


Kayla Muslovski (Columbiana)


Jamie Entrikin (Lisbon)

Vince Nittoli (Salem)