Grodhaus named first team all-district

CANTON — The South Range football team’s season may be far from over, but the Raiders are already piling up some honors.

The Raiders, who are preparing for a Division V regional final, had four first-team selections on the 2017 Northeast Inland All-District football team released today.

Senior linebacker Peyton Remish led the picks as the Division V Defensive Player of the Year and is joined on the first team by senior quarterback Aniello Buzzacco, senior receiver Mathias Combs and sophomore defensive lineman Anthony Czap.

South Range has rolled to a 12-0 record and second-place state ranking. The Raiders will play 11th-ranked Sullivan Black River (11-1) in a Region 17 final at 7:30 p.m. Friday at Northwest High School in Canal Fulton.

Remish and Czap are the leaders of a Raider defense that limited opponents to an average of 14.7 points and 233 total yards a game in the regular season.

Remish finished with a team-leading 125 tackles, including 30 for a loss and one sack. He had four forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Buzzacco and Combs guide the South Range offense that averaged 35.4 points and 412 total yards in the regular season.

Buzzacco passed for 1,524 yards and 19 touchdowns and ran for 803 yards and 13 touchdowns on 96 carries (8.4).

Combs had a team-high 44 catches for 835 yards (19.0) and 12 touchdowns.

Joining them on the Division V first team is Crestview junior offensive lineman Dominic Perry. With Perry leading the way, the Rebels averaging 26.2 points and 237 yards rushing a game this season.

Division III

West Branch senior receiver Kyle Linhart, who led the area with 90 catches for 1,205 yards (13.4), was a first-team selection in Division III.

Division IV

Salem had a pair of first-teamers with senior receiver Chase Ackerman and senior punter Mitch Davidson.

Ackerman topped the Quakers with 64 receptions for 1,037 yards (16.2) and 16 touchdowns.

Davidson averaged 38.1 yards on 36 punts, including 13 inside the 20-yard line. At quarterback, he passed for a school-record 2,371 yards and 30 touchdowns.

Division VI

High-scoring East Palestine had two of its top threats named to the first team – senior receiver Branden Kemp and junior quarterback Parker Sherry.

In the regular season, Kemp 46 catches for 786 yards (17.1) and 16 touchdowns, while Sherry passed for 2,010 yards and 24 touchdowns and ran for 1,312 yards and 16 touchdowns.

Other Division VI first-teamers include Southern Local senior running back Will Grodhaus, Columbiana senior kicker Jared Bryarly, Springfield senior offensive lineman Ryan Thompson, Western Reserve senior offensive lineman Dallas Smith, Western Reserve senior linebacker Jack Cappabianca and Western Reserve junior punter Adam Wise

Grodhaus ran for a school-record 2,042 yards and 29 touchdowns on 175 carries (11.7).

Bryarly kicked four goals and 32 extra points, while averaging 48.1 yards on kickoffs.

Thompson and Smith paved the way for their respective offenses.

Cappabianca led the Blue Devils with 55 tackles and three sackes in the regular season, while Wise averaged 34.0 yards per punt.

Division VII

Lisbon featured a pair of first-team district picks with senior linebacker Cam Summers and senior receiver Seth Stokes.

Summers led the Blue Devils with 83 tackles, including 52 solos, with two sacks and two forced fumbles.

Stokes topped Lisbon with 31 catches for 577 yards (18.6) and 11 touchdowns.

Second team

Second-team selections included Crestview senior linebacker Dakota Strattton, South Range senior offensive lineman Matt Brooks and South Range junior offensive lineman Tyler Dolak in Division V and United senior defensive back Nate Mikell, East Palestine junior running back Dominic Posey, Springfield junior running back Luke Snyder, Springfield senior offensive lineman Anthony Stouffer, Springfield junior linebacker Zack Stouffer, Western Reserve senior receiver Kade Hilles, Western Reserve senior quarterback Dom Velasquez and Western Reserve senior offensive lineman Rob Hively in Division VI.

More honorees

Receiving honorable mention were West Branch’s T.J. DeShields and Jake Lyons in Division III; Salem’s Turner Johnson and Robbie Sarginger in Division IV; Crestview’s Andrew Yanssens, Dylan Huff and Danny Moore in Division V; East Palestine’s Vincent Delaroza, John McLaughlin and Jeff Rhodes, Columbiana’s Shane Moore, Chase Franken, Frank Rupert and Zach Philips, Southern Local’s Cam Grodhaus and Anthony Abraham, United’s Ethan Antram and Kyle Bailey, Springfield’s Brandon Walters and Brannon Brungard, and Western Reserve’s Ryan Slaven, Ryan Demsky and Adam Gatrell in Division VI; Lisbon’s Logan Bell and Brice Blackburn, Wellsville’s Derrick Suggs nd Ryan Miller and Leetonia’s Roman Ferry in Division VII.