Mount Union going on road trip

ALLIANCE — The University of Mount Union’s first regular-season loss in 11 years has cost the Purple Raiders home-field advantage in the NCAA Division III football playoffs.

The seventh-ranked Purple Raiders (9-1) will play No. 19 Hobart (9-1) in a first-round playoff game at noon Saturday at Boswell Field in Geneva, N.Y.

Mount Union has now made the tournament a record 28 times and 25 years in row. This is the first time since 1996 the Purple Raiders are on the road in the playoffs except for the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl.

The Purple Raiders placed second in the Ohio Athletic Conference and received one of six national at-large bids to the playoffs. They dropped a 31-28 decision to John Carroll on Saturday, giving the Blue Streaks the Ohio Athletic Conference title. That snapped Mount Union’s NCAA-record 112-game regular-season win streak.

Mount Union has an 91-15 record in NCAA playoff games and the Purple Raiders have advanced to the Stagg Bowl 19 times since 1993 with a record 12 national championships.

The Hobart Statesmen are in the tournament as the champions of the Liberty League.

Hobart is making its 12th NCAA playoff appearance and are 9-11 in playoff games.

This will be the fourth ever meeting between the teams and second-ever playoff meeting. Hobart holds a 2-1 lead in the series, but the Purple Raiders won the last meeting — 42-7 in a second-round game in Alliance in 2008.

The winner of this game will take on the winner of a matchup between No. 10 Johns Hopkins (Md.) and Randolph-Macon (Va.).

No. 6 John Carroll (9-1) earned the Ohio Athletic Conference’s automatic bid and will host Olivet College (9-1) at noon Saturday at Don Shula Stadium.

This is John Carroll’s sixth appearance in the NCAA Division III playoffs and the third in four years. The Blue Streaks are 6-5 in the tournament, reaching the quarterfinals in 2014 and semifinals in 2002 — losing both times at Mount Union.

Olivet earned its second consecutive Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association title, the first time the Comets have been back-to-back champs since 1913-14.

The last time the two teams met, John Carroll won 47-6 on Nov. 6, 1937.

Div. III playoffs


Saturday, Nov. 19

Mount Union (9-1) at Hobart , N.Y. (9-1), Noon

Olivet, Mich. (9-1) at John Carroll (9-1), Noon

Bridgewater (Mass.) at Alfred (10-0), Noon

Husson (9-1) at Western New England (10-0), Noon

Randolph-Macon (9-1) at Johns Hopkins (10-0), Noon

Redlands (8-1) at Mary Hardin-Baylor (10-0), 1 p.m.

Stevenson (9-1) at Wesley (Del.) (8-2), Noon

Wittenberg (9-1) at Thomas More (9-1), Noon

Lakeland (7-3) at Wisconsin-Whitewater (10-0), 1 p.m.

Linfield (8-1) at Hardin-Simmons (9-1), 1 p.m.

Huntingdon (9-1) at Wheaton (9-1), 1 p.m.

Rose-Hulman (8-2) at North Central (10-0), 1 p.m.

Northwestern (Minn.) at St. Thomas (Minn.) (10-0), 1 p.m.

Monmouth (Ill.) (10-0) at Coe (10-0), 1 p.m.

Wisconsin-Platteville (8-2) at St. John’s (Minn.) (9-1), 1 p.m.

Washington (Mo.) (8-2) at Wisconsin-Oshkosh (9-1), 1 p.m.