Beaver’s Sarah Lowe is Coach of the Year

After a pair of memorable seasons, the Beaver Local and Crestview volleyball teams were well-represented in the 2016 District 1 coaches awards. Crestview’s MacKenzie Daub was named Division III Player of the Year, while Crestview coach Alisha Auer was the Division III coach of the year after leading the Rebels to a regional semifinal berth. Beaver Local’s Sarah Lowe, who guided the Beavers to an undefeated regular season and a district runner-up finish, was the Division II Coach of the Year.

Heartland Christian’s Bonnie Flynn was also named Player of the Year in Division IV.

Rounding things out for the Beavers, Dakota Heaton  was named first team All-Div. II district. Kaitlyn Pugliano and Carmen Pugliano were named to the second team and Madison Smith was Honorable Mention. For Crestview, Emily Emch joined Daub on the first-team All-Div. III squad. Natasha Salem was named to the second-team, while Brenna Auer was honorable mention and Taylor Oliver was a senior representative.

Other area nominees in Div. II included, West Branch’s Whitney Wallace and East Liverpool’s Skye Stokes (first team); Salem’s Chloe Cheresne, West Branch’s Vernice Ormiston and East Liverpool’s Kiandria Cowart (second team); Salem’s Elizabeth Aukerman and West Branch’s Natalie Zuchowski (honorable mention) and East Liverpool’s Gabbi Reinhardt (senior representative).

Div. III first-team honorees included: Dee Dixon (Columbiana); Codi Taylor (South Range); Sara Chaszeyka (Springfield); Brysten Trosky (East Palestine); Tori Sheehan (Columbiana); Camryn Jarrett (United) and Kimmi Wiggers (Lisbon).

Div. III second-team honorees included: Mariah Eisenbraun (United); Karlee Pezzano (Lisbon); Brianna Yemma (Springfield); Emily Gosselin (Columbiana) and. Aurora Smith (South Range).

Div. III honorable mention honorees were East Palestine’s Marlaina Frye, South Range’s Cara Mason, Columbiana’s Alexis Cross, United’s Cameron Pierson and Springfield’s Kaelen Yemma. East Palestine’s Mazie Jones was a senior representative.

In Div. IV. Western Reserve’s Lainie Grope and Alexis Hughes were named to the first-team along with Southern’s Lizzie Willis and Wellsville’s Kiki Perry. Second-team honorees included Southern’s Anna Sevek and Alivia Brothers as well as Wellsville’s Regan Pierson, Heartland’s Joanna Bell and Western Reserve’s Laura Sigworth. Leetonia’s Kristy Eckman, Western Reserve’s Elizabeth Bowman, Sebring’s Maddie Kreitzer, Heartland’s Hannah Brandenstein, Southern’s Riley Felton and Wellsville’s Peyton Davidson were named Div. IV honorable mention.

Southern’s Siera Boyle and Payton Davidson were senior representatives.

In Div. I, Canfield’s Madison Johns was Player of the Year and Canfield coach Maria Householder was Coach of the Year. Jefferson’s Emily Degeorge was the Div. II Player of the Year. The Div. IV Coach of the Year was Jeann Applegate.