Oak Glen takes regional title

FAIRMONT, W.Va. – The Oak Glen wrestling team took the first step in its quest for the school’s 15th state championship Saturday at the Armory in Fairmont. The Golden Bears took the team title in the Region No. 1 A-AA regional tournament out scoring runner-up North Marion 253.5 to 212.5.

East Fairmont finished third with 154 points followed by Fairmont Senior’s 132.5. The Bears will send 13 wrestlers to next weeks state tournament at the Big Sandy Superstore Arena in Huntington.

“Our guys really stepped it up down here, its probably the best we’ve wrestled all year,” said head coach Patrick McGillian. “We’ve put ourselves in good position for next weeks tournament.”

Oak Glen crowned three individual champs as 113-pounder Danny Wyke pinned Magnolia’s Riley Nice at the 3:40 mark and teammate Josh Cornell took care of Caleb Kuhns of North Marion, 3-2.

Avery Flowers held on for another close victory beating North Marion’s Kyle Elliott 2-1 in the 132-pound class.

“The kids I wrestled were all tough,” said Golden Bear senior Avery Flowers. “We want to go state and place as high as possible.”

Fellow senior Josh Cornell racked up his 111th career victory with his battle for first.

“I lost to him earlier in the year 7-2 so it was real nice coming back and beating him,” Cornell said.

Taking second place for the Bears were Ryan Debee at 106, Alec Shuman at 152, Noah Mills at 285 and Nick Tice at 138. Robert Bozek (106), Devan Chadwick (170), Noah Flowers (182), Will Hogan (160) and Dakota Price (195) finished third. Patrick Arneault took fourth at 145.

Championship finals

106: Hunter Riffle (Doddridge Co.) dec. Ryan Debee (OG) 3-1

113: Danny Wyke (OG) pin Riley Nice (Magnolia) 3:40

120: Ryan Elliott(NM) dec. Jacob Monn (Ritchie) 13-0

126: Josh Cornell (OG) dec. Caleb Kuhns (NM) 3-2

132: Avery Flowes (OG) dec. Kyle Elliott (NM) 2-1

138: Dalton Micheal (EF) dec. Nick Tice (OG) 5-2

145: Anthony Alvaro (FS) dec. Ryan Arnett (NM) 10-3

152: Hayden Stewart (EF) pin Alec Shuman (OG) 1:12

160: Hunter Haines (Cameron) dec. Paden McConaughey (Mag) 7-6

170: Cam Stewart (EF) dec. Mikey Houser (SM) 10-7

182: Caleb Nice (Mag) dec. Waylon Miller (Cam) 8-2

195: Jeremy Pratt (SM) dec. Tyler Arnett (NM) 4-3

220: Vincent Delligatti (FS) pin Josh Hart (RC) 2:34

285: Tyler Davis (SM) pin Noah Mills (OG) 1:07

Consolation finals

120: Robert Bozek (OG) dec. Dalton Wood (CAM) 5-4

145: Colton Kirby (CB) dec. Patrick Arneault (OG) 10-4

160: Will Hogan (OG) dec. Matt Hopwood (EF) 11-5

170: Devon Chadwick (OG) dec. Tre Lewis (EF) 5-0

182: Noah Flowers (OG) pin Anthony Herring (SM) 3:40

195: Dakota Price (OG) pin Shaine Livada (WM) 3:53