Beavers take third at Conn’s Duals

BYESVILLE – Beaver Local went 3-2 on Saturday at the Conn’s Duals at Meadowbrook High School to place third.

The Beavers beat the hosts 51-15 in the first round and lost to Waynesburg 36-30 in the second round. Beaver Local bested Buckeye Local 60-23 in the next round before losing to New Philadelphia 43-32. The Beavers topped Martins Ferry 51-18 in the finale.

“Today was a great opportunity for our kids to get five matches and do a lot of wrestling before the meat of our schedule rolls at us,” Beaver Local coach Jordan Williams said.

We didn’t wrestle our best. We need to be more aggressive on our feet, and wrestle with more urgency. Our kids understand where we need to get better and we will work to make sure we do the things we need to do to reach our goals.”

New Philadephia won the tournament title by going 5-0. The Most Valuable Wrestler went to AC Headlee of Waynesburg.

Beaver Local is at Oak Glen on Wednesday and hosts East Liverpool on Thursday.

Beaver Local 51, Meadowbrook 14

106: Quinton Bookman (BL) won by forfeit

113: Jack Dawson (BL) won by forfeit

120: Dustin Martsolf (BL) pin Kobe Richardson,1:54.

126: Tyler Jenkins (M) dec. Jason Keyes, 11-6.

132: Nick Addy (BL) won by forfeit.

138: Clayton Davis (BL) won by forfeit

145: Daniel Hasson (BL) dec. Bailey Jenkins, 6-1

152: Austin Holliday (M) pin Austin Adams, 2:57

160: Josh Barber (BL) dec. Richard Ramage, 10-4.

170: Tyler Kelly (BL) sv-1 Trevor Stevens, 6-4.

182: Trey West (M) won by forfeit.

195: Cody Riddle (BL) pin Austin Warford, 3:59.

220: double forfeit.

285: Cody Martsolf (BL) pin Garry Tidwell, 0:44.

Waynesburg Central 36, Beaver Local 30

106: Ryan Braun (WCH) dec. Quinton Bookman, 2-0.

113: Cole Rush (WCH) dec. Jack Dawson, 7-2.

120: Logan Henderson (WCH) dec. Dustin Martsolf, 2-1.

126: Jason Keyes (BL) pin Challen Spitznogle, 0:51.

132: Shaun Wilson (WCH) pinn Nick Addy, 3:16.

138: Austin Headlee (WCH) pin Clayton Davis, 2:43.

145: Terry Victor (WCH) dec. Daniel Hasson, 4-3.

152: Austin Adams (BL) won by forfeit.

160: Colin McCracken (WCH) dec. Josh Barber, 7-1.

170: Logan Bobby (BL) won by forfeit.

182: Ryan Keys (WCH) dec. Tyler Kelly, 8-4.

195: Cody Riddle (BL) pin Brian Cargill, 3:55.

220: Shaun Rush (WCH) won by forfeit.

285: Cody Martsolf (BL) won by forfeit

Beaver Local 60, Buckeye Local 23

106: Quinton Bookman (BL) won by forfeit.

113: Jack Dawson (BL) won by forfeit

120: Colton Bookman (BL) won by forfeit.

126: Dustin Martsolf (BL) pin David Callarik, 2:00.

132: Jason Keyes (BL) pin Jordan Hillard, 1:55.

138: Clayton Davis (BL) pin David Anderson, 1:31.

145: Daniel Hasson (BL) pin Jason Binkiewicz, 1:16.

152: Eric Williams, (BUCK) pin Austin Adams :24.

160: Josh Barber (BL) pin Ryan Morrow, 1:49.

170: Josh Sokolowski (BUCK) tech. fall Tyler Kelly, 20-5.

182: Austin Mosser (BUCK) won By forfeit.

195: Tristan Jones (BUCK) won by forfeit

220: Cody Riddle (BL) pin Matt Miller, 3:50.

285: Cody Martsolf (BL) won by forfeit.

New Philadelphia 43,

Beaver Local 31

106: Quinton Bookman (BL) won by forfeit.

113: Jack Dawson (BL) maj. dec. Max Meese, 11-2.

120: Dustin Martsolf (BL) pin Logan Dusenberry, 2:36.

126: Cade Bates (NP) sv-1 Jason Keyes, 11-9.

132: Maverick Meeks (NP) pin Nick Addy, 1:42.

138: Daniel Hasson (BL) pin John Riker, 5:54.

145: Brandon Long (NP) pin Clayton Davis, 0:25.

152: Edwin Hernandez (NP) pin Austin Adams, 5:16.

160: Josh Barber (BL) tb-1 Casey Swinderman, 2-1.

170: Mark Barrow (NP) pin Logan Bobby, 2:28.

182: Logan Ford (NP) pin Tyler Kelly, 1:37.

195: John Barrow (NP) maj. Dec. Cody Riddle, 14-1.

220: Sam Shook (NP) won by forfeit

285: Cody Martsolf (BL) pin Neil Wise, 3:21.

Beaver Local 54, Martins Ferry 18

106: Thomas Cambell (MF) dec. Quinton Bookman, 3-0.

113: Jack Dawson (BL) pin Anthony Blankenship, 0:19.

120: Dustin Martsolf (BL) inj. def. Theodore Zeumpoulidis

126: Jason Keyes (BL) won by forfeit.

132: Nick Addy (BL) won by forfeit.

138: Clayton Davis (BL) pin Trevor Neavin, 0:42.

145: Daniel Hasson (BL) dec. James Wise, 8-2.

152: Bryce Coleman (MF) pin Austin Adams, 2:45.

160: Josh Barber (BL) pin Andrew Hython, 0:26.

170: Logan Bobby (BL) won by forfeit.

182: Tyler Kelly (BL) pin Drake Rice, 1:09.

195: Cody Riddle (BL) dec. Ja’ Vaughn Wade, 5-1.

220: Jerald Jarman (MF) won by forfeit.

285: Jonathon Bodkin (MF) dec. Cody Martsolf, 4-2.

Wheeling Park 41, Oak Glen 29

WHEELING, W.Va. – The Oak Glen wrestling team gave a strong effort against Wheeling Park, ranked second in the OVAC, but the effort wasn’t strong enough as Wheeling Park won the meet 41-29 on Saturday.

Despite the loss, Oak Glen coach Patrick McGillian sees great opportunities for the future in light of missed opportunies in Saturday’s meet.

“Overall I thought we wrestled great, and we had a few wins that will set us up nicely for the OVAC tournament on Jan. 16,” McGillian said. “Park is a very talented team. We had several opportunities to change the final outcome but couldn’t capitalize.”

The Golden Bears host Beaver Local Wednesday.

Wheeling Park 41, Oak Glen 29

106: Ryan Debee (OG) win by forfeit.

113: Danny Wyke (OG) pin James Parsons 2:34.

120: Dallas Baciak (WP) tech Robert Bozek 17-1.

126: Devin O’Rourke (OG) win by forfeit.

132: AveryFlowers (OG) tech Stanley Czacharoski 19-4.

138: Nick Tice(OG) dec. Austin Digiandomen 7-1.

145: Dylan Taylor (WP) tech Patrick Arenault 19-3.

152: Jonathon Davis (WP) pin Alex Shuman :58.

160: Eric Banks (WP) maj dec. Will Hogan 16-5.

170: Devon Chadwick (OG) dec. Jake Wenseyel 7-2.

182: Thomas Ricker (WP) pin Lakota Grimes 2:28.

195: Isaiah Myers (WP) dec. Dakota Price 4-2.

220: Geremy Paige (WP) win by forfeit.

285: Davian Cooper (WP) pin Noah Mills :35.