Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Ads | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS
Minimize the special tax breaks in Ohio

June 16, 2015 Very few people read state budget legislation. Fewer still understand the legalistic language, which sometimes seems designed to conceal how some taxpayers’ money is spent. more »»

Recommendation for cars unrealistic

June 15, 2015 National Transportation Safety Board Chairman Christopher Hart has provided new validation for Americans who think many in government have lost touch with reality. more »»

Today we celebrate ‘Flag Day’

June 14, 2015 It proudly flies in the front of schools. It is raised in front of public buildings. It is displayed from the porches and in the front yards of countless homes around the nation. more »»

Court ruling ignores reality

June 13, 2015 Most of us prepare for severe storms when we hear they are coming. more »»

Helping students with disabilities

June 12, 2015 West Virginia public schools do not always compare well with those in other states, when ranked based on one piece of data or anothe. more »»

Healthier ‘steps’ this summer

June 11, 2015 West Virginians interested in making Hancock County a winner — and improving your own health in the process — the “Summer Steps” contest may be just the thing. more »»

Marijuana plan is unacceptable

June 10, 2015 As it stands, a proposed Ohio constitutional amendment legalizing marijuana is a get-rich-quick scheme for a handful of investors — who, incredible as it may seem, want to use tax money to expand... more »»

Doing better than ‘Einstein’ is vital

June 9, 2015 Lock your front door and a determined burglar will merely climb through a window. Lock it and he may just break the glass to enter. As homeowners know, it can be very difficult to keep thieves out. more »»

Obamacare drives up insurance cost

June 8, 2015 Health insurance is going to cost a lot more for many Americans, thanks in large measure to the president who said he had everything under control. more »»

Investigate validity of Iraqi complaints

June 7, 2015 Iraqi Prime Minister Haider al-Abadi’s attitude in demanding more help in the fight against an Islamic State terrorist army should worry U.S. more »»

Review, correct rules on spying

June 6, 2015 Intelligence agencies want unfettered authority to invade our privacy. It is in the very nature of spying organizations such as the National Security Agency. more »»

McKinley made right decision

June 5, 2015 West Virginia needs excellent leadership in state government. But the state’s future depends to an enormous extent not on what its leaders in Charleston do, but what happens in Washington, D.C. more »»

Look into FBI’s air surveillance

June 4, 2015 Claims of “black helicopters” spying on us for the government are not just wild conspiracy theories, it turns out. more »»

Fund transit, not studies

June 3, 2015 A debate in Ohio is highlighting two problems: one, the pitiful level of money available for public transportation in the state; and two, the apparently bottomless fund for studies and reports. Gov. more »»

IRS not cooperating

June 2, 2015 Hopefully, the Internal Revenue Service official in charge of transparency has nothing to hide. We use the qualifier because, well, this is the federal government. more »»

IRS bears unique duty to taxpayers

June 1, 2015 Thieves stole about $5.8 billion from the Internal Revenue Service in 2013, by taking tax refunds due to people whose personal information they used to make the claims. more »»

Making roads safer in Ohio

May 31, 2015 A substantial number of traffic accidents are caused by “distracted driving” by those using cell phones —often for texting or other activities requiring them to take one or both hands off the wheel. more »»

Rethinking plan to defeat Islamic State

May 30, 2015 U.S. officials should rethink how military assets are being used in the fight against Islamic State terrorists, President Barack Obama said Monday. more »»

Turning the tassels begins a new journey

May 29, 2015 Here’s a quick message for our area’s 2015 high school graduates: Life isn’t easy. Believe us, we kno. more »»

Expose waste at local level

May 28, 2015 Thanks to whistleblowers and government inspectors general, taxpayers often are alerted when state and federal officials spend our money wastefully. more »»



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web