Generosity appreciated

Dear Editor:

Congratulations to Mayor Ken Morris, Police Chief Ken Thorn, Don Hood and the family of Sara Thomas for their induction into the 2013 class of the Chester Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame takes great pride in honoring citizens of Chester who have made a positive impact on the city.

Thanks to the following hard-working committee members who make it possible: Anthony Bernardi, Jim Pryor, Del Wright, Ken Morris, Alvin Fineman, Elwood Fox, Don Murray, Judy Pryor, Bob Milner, and Bill Mackall.

Thanks go out to the sponsors who helped offset the costs of the project: Metsch Refractories, Chester American Legion Post 121, the V.F.W. Men’s Auxiliary, the Ann Jordan family, and the CHS All-Class Reunion Committee.

A special thanks to First Christian Church of Chester, who generously provide their facility for the ceremony, and Hackett Motors, who allowed us to use their new automobiles for the parade.

Especially the committee thanks the area residents of Chester for their overwhelming support of this worthwhile project. The Hall of Fame belongs to the city and without your nominations and attendance at the ceremonies, there would be no Hall of Fame.

The committee encourages the public to nominate people they feel are deserving of this honor. We take nominations year round at P.O. Box 106 Chester, W.Va. 26034. Contact a committee member for help with nominations. We remind the public that nominations that have already been submitted are reviewed again in subsequent years. Plaques honoring Hall of Fame members are on display at the city building. You may visit our web site linked to Chester’s site at

Jerry Smith


Chester Hall of Fame Committee