EL School District creates ‘team’ for peer review of education program

EAST LIVERPOOL — At the recommendation of the Ohio Department of Education, the city school board Wednesday agreed to create and implement an Individual Education Program (IEP) Inter-Rater Team for the district.

Following an audit by the ODE’s Office of Exceptional Children, the district’s special education department had developed such a team within each building, which Superintendent Randy Taylor said will allow for a “peer review of each others’ IEPs.”

The teams will review and provide feedback on compliant IEPs, meeting after school no more than two times per month for no more than two hours at $25 per hour. A total of 10 intervention specialists will be chosen for the process.

Treasurer Kathy Jo Laughlin said the ODE is selecting districts across the state in which these teams will be implemented.

Also approved by the board was a recommendation by Laughlin to approve an agreement with Spy Glass to help reduce phone service costs and recover some over charges. Laughlin said the company will be paid with the first year’s savings and if no savings is realized, no payment will be due.

To settle a grievance, the board agreed to compensate Valerie Irwin $349.76 as a Camp Fitch stipend. She had been approved for the work on May 22, 2015 but never paid, with board member Richard Wolf saying it was due to the “abuse of administrative discretion” that the board has now decided to resolve.

In another move, Irwin was also granted a professional growth stipend of $625 for a minimum of 30 hours worked during the 2014-2015 school year.

Among personnel matters approved were the resignations of teacher Vivian Smalley, effective June 30 and Cory Rudibaugh, math teacher, effective Dec. 3.

The resignation of David Dozier, assistant varsity wrestling coach, was approved, effective Nov. 9, with Dozier then appointed as head coach of the middle school wrestling team.

Other appointments approved included Julie Voorhees, swimming coach; Gerald Bartlett, debate team adviser; Joshua Coil, assistant varsity wrestling coach; Mary Davis, assistant varsity girls basketball coach; Alex Potts, middle school assistant wrestling coach; and Eric McMahon, bowling coach.

William Smith and Brian Rudibaugh were approved as volunteer coaches.

The addition of one certified extra-curricular position of detention monitor at both North and LaCroft schools was approved. The position will be for two days per week, one hour per day at $25 per hour.

An unpaid leave was approved from Dec. 5 to Jan. 3 for high school hall monitor John Bobalik.

At Laughlin’s recommendation, the board approved a request from coach Tim Sarge to donate an old, cut-up wrestling match no longer used by the wrestling team to Power Fitness, a local fitness club which gives discounts to district students.

A contract was approved with Mahoning County ESC for hearing impaired consulting services for up to five days at $463.76 per day, plus mileage and a 5 percent administrative fee.