No change in election results

NEW CUMBERLAND-Candidates in Hancock County’s primary election races gained votes following the canvass, but no race outcomes were changed.

The results of the canvass were certified on Tuesday by Hancock County Clerk George Foley and County Commissioners Jeff Davis and Mike Swartzmiller.

Their fellow commissioner, Democrat Dan Greathouse, lost his May 13 bid for re-election to former Hancock County school board member Joe Barnabei, also a Democrat. The official results of that race showed Barnabei beating Greathouse 1,702 to 1,173.

Greathouse, 62, of Weirton, was first elected to the Hancock County Commission in 1996 and was seeking his fourth term. He currently serves as commission president, and his term expires at the end of the year.

The primary election decided the commissioner’s race because there were no Republican candidates.

The vote totals went up because of provisional ballots that were cast, but not counted, on May 13. Provisional ballots are used by people who are not voting in the proper precinct or who have just moved but have not registered their new address with the election office.

In the other contested Hancock County race, Michelle Chappell received 2,196 votes to win election to the Hancock County school board. Chappell, 49, of New Cumberland, was the highest vote-getter in a nonpartisan four-way race for three seats.

The other winners were incumbents Toni Hinerman, with 2,151 votes, and John Manypenny, with 1,963 votes. Incumbent Laura Greathouse, who was seeking a third term, received 1,671 votes but did not win re-election.

Chappell, who first ran for the school board in 2012, will take office in early July.

The election results include absentee and early-voting ballots, which totalled 455 in Hancock County.

Other May 13 election results reported Wednesday by Foley include:

* West Virginia House of Delegates, District 1-Randy Swartzmiller (2,083) and Ronnie D. Jones (1,497), both D-Hancock; Republicans Mark Zatezalo (543) and Pat McGeehan (688).

* West Virginia Senate, District 1-Rocky Fitzsimmons, D-Ohio County (2,072); Republican Ryan Ferns (777).

* U.S. House of Representatives, District 1-Rep. David McKinley, R-Wheeling (933); Democrat Glen Gainer III (1,995).

* U.S. Senate-Democrat Natalie Tennant (1,837) and Republican Shelley Moore Capito (716).

* Hancock County Clerk-Democrat George Foley (2,145); Republican Michael “Freddie” Capito (870).

* Circuit judge for 1st Judicial Circuit-David Sims (1,921).

* Conservation District Supervisor-Charles Ed Huff (2,800).