The Review receives five AP nominations

COLUMBUS – The Review has been named a finalist in five categories of the Ohio Associated Press Media Editors’ 2013 newspaper competition.

On the news side, reporter Richard Sberna is among the finalists in the Best News Writer category, while managing editor Jim Mackey was named finalist for Best Editorial Writer.

In addition, The Review received a nomination for Best Page One Layout.

On the sports side, The Review was nominated in two categories, including Best Daily Sports Section and Best Special Sports Section for the annual high school football edition.

“We had an excellent staff of veteran newspaper people in 2013, and it’s very gratifying to have them recognized by their peers for the work they do,” said Mackey.

Members of the newsroom during 2013 included Mackey, Sberna, desk editors Pam Anthony and Laura Reed, reporters Stephen Huba and Devin Bezeredi, new clerk Mary Ann Robinson, and former employees Aaron Petchal and Paul Edgar.

The awards in actual order of finish – first, second and third places – will be announced at the Ohio APME annual convention May 18 in Columbus. The General Excellence and First Amendment winners also will be announced at the meeting.

The Review competes in Division I for newspapers with a daily circulation up to 7,900. Judges in the division were The Pueblo (Colo.) Chieftain, and The (Grand Junction, Colo.) Daily Sentinel.

Other nominations in the Best Daily Sports Section include the Coshocton Tribune and the Troy Daily News. Also in the running for the Best Special Sports Section are The (Fremont) News-Messenger, and the Lancaster Eagle-Gazette.

In addition to Sberna, the finalists for Best News Writer are Benita Heath of The Ironton Tribune and John Jarvis of The Marion Star.

The Best Editorial Writer finalists with Mackey are Mike Throne of the Chillicothe Gazette and Michael Caldwell of The Ironton Tribune.

The Ironton Tribune and the Coshocton Tribune also are finalists in the Best Page One Layout category.

Sixty-four daily newspapers submitted 2,599 entries in the contest, which featured news and sports stories, features, editorials, columns, graphics and photos from 2013.

Entries were judged by editors from The Detroit News in Div. V; The Ann Arbor (Mich.) News in Div. VI; the Hopkinsville Kentucky New Era and the Bowling Green (Ky.) News in Div. III; and the Cadillac (Mich.) News and The (St. Joseph, Mich.) Herald-Palladium in Div. II.

The Associated Press is a not-for-profit news cooperative representing 1,500 newspapers and 5,000 broadcast stations in the United States. Members of AP include 85 daily newspapers in Ohio.