Primary election lineup released

LISBON -The lineup is tentatively set for the May 7 primary election, but the only contested race will be in East Liverpool.

Wednesday was the filing deadline for anyone wanting to run for the partisan races up in the primary election. The Columbiana County Board of Elections is expected to meet Feb. 15 to certify the validity of the candidacy petitions.

As mentioned, the only contested race will be in East Liverpool, where there are four candidates seeking the Democrat nomination for the three council-at-large seats up for grabs this year. The candidates are Sherrie Curtis, Russell Dray, Brian Kerr and Ryan Stovall. No Republicans filed for the positions.

Following is a list of the cities and villages with partisan races and the candidates running for them:

County Municipal Court Judge

Jan. 1 term: Mark Frost, Republican.

Jan. 2 term: Carol Robb, Republican.


Mayor: Bryan Blakeman, Republican. The incumbent, David Spatholt, usually runs as an independent candidate, and the filing deadline for independents is May 6.

Council (3 to nominate): No one filed to run for these positions as either a Democrat or Republican. Blakeman is one of the incumbents, and he giving up his seat to run for mayor. The other incumbents, James King and Thomas Ferguson, ran as independents the last time.

East Liverpool

Municipal Court Judge: Melissa Byers-Emmerling, Democrat.

Council President: John Torma, Democrat.

City Treasurer: Virginia Hanlon, Democrat.

First Ward Council: Ray Perorazio, Democrat.

Second Ward Council: H. Charles Wade, Democrat.

Third Ward Council: Thomas Cunningham, Democrat.

Fourth Ward Council: Brian Vaughn, Democrat.


Council President: Rick Drummond, Republican; K. Bret Apple, Democrat.

City Treasurer: no Democrat or Republican candidate filed.

Council-At-Large, 3 to nominate: Brian Whitehill and Jeff Cushman, both Republicans.


Council (4 to nominate): Dan Summers and Danny Fire, both Democrats.


Council (4 to nominate): Roger Gallo, Cheryl Mills, Tom Darcy and Joseph Morenz, all Republicans.

Board of Public Affairs (1 to nominate): Bob Garwood, Republican.


Council (2 to nominate): Nancy Murray and Randall Allmon, both Democrats.