Lions welcome new member

Pictured are: WV 29L District Governor Linda Leasure (right) with new member Andrew Kefer (center) and his sponsor Joe Ghenne (left) (Submitted photo)

NEW CUMBERLAND — Oct. 25 District Governor night, President Barb Blackwell brought the meeting to order.  Lion Pam Stiles offered the prayer and Lion Don Deemer led the Pledge of Allegiance.  President Barb Blackwell introduced District Governor Linda Leasure, Past District Governor John Patton, Past District Governor John Wensyel, Past District Governor Gary Pitcock, Past District Governor and Zone Chairperson Bernice Pitcock, Lions John and Martha Isinghood from the West Liberty club, Lions Dave Atkinson and Dave Ice from the Newell club.

Lion Russ Flanigan made a motion to dispense with business with a second by Deemer.  Leasure awarded chevrons to the following members: Lions Amy Stiles and Dale McCartney with 10 years, Lions John Ashcraft and Rick Tinsky with 15 years, Lion Tim Turley with 20 years, Lion Charlie Mitchell with 30 years and Lion Edwin Flowers with 60 years as a member.  Andrew Kefer was inducted into the club by Leasure.  He was sponsored by Lion Joe Ghenne.  Leasure awarded Perfect Attendance pins to 24 club members.

Lion Joyce Young asked for a Lion Minute to thank Deemer and Ghenne for putting together the dinner.  Lion Bob Manypenny reminded the club that they are needed at the paper shed at 8 a.m. on Saturday and then at the Penny Auction later in the day.   Second Vice District Governor Gary Pitcock announced a raffle by the Past District Governor’s Association and noted that the next convention will be at Lakeview Resort.  Blackwell made a motion to adjourn with a second by Lion Mark Gittings.  The next meeting will be Nov. 8 at the Methodist Church.